The Apprentice by Tess Gerritsen: 52 in 52 Book #30


The Apprentice

Upon finishing Tess Gerritsen’s novel The Surgeon, I immediately went online and ordered the sequel: The Apprentice. After waiting a few days for delivery and then a few more as we had a guest over, I got around to reading it…. and finished it less than 24hrs later. I love it when a book grabs me by the mind and doesn’t stop wringing it like a flannel until I’m finished!

Following on a year later from the events of The Surgeon, Detective Jane Rizzoli and the rest of Boston PD homicide unit investigate the antics of another serial killer, who is eventually nicknamed…. The Dominator (bet you didn’t see that one coming). This particular killer has a penchant for necrophilic activities. Thankfully, this book was not nearly as gory as the last one, or at least I have now acclimatised myself to it, but the events are described in juicy and tantalising detail which really helps paint the storyline well.

Also in this book Dr Maura Isles, the latter partner of the Rizzoli & Isles duo, is introduced. The Queen of Death, as she is dubbed, presents a rather glamorous contrast to the tomboyish detective. She’s the medical examiner and conducts most of the autopsies in this book. Although she doesn’t star heavily in this novel, I really liked her character and look forward to reading more about her in the future.

Character development and plot continuation in this novel were excellent. Unlike in many crime series I have read, Rizzoli is shown to be genuinely affected by past events and developments in the story show how she has changed in the year since the Surgeon was locked up. There are also scenes that show a much softer side which allow the reader to see her as more of a human being than an angry, trodden-down-female robot. Other characters also show good plot continuation, although this is rather more diminished than Rizzoli’s.

And as I bring this review to a close, I am already loading up online bookstores to search for my copy of the next instalment The Sinner. I initially was sceptical of this series when it was recommended to me; I couldn’t have been more wrong. If crime novels are your thing, get yourself copies of these books. You won’t regret it.

 

Kat

Leave a Reply

