Vanish by Tess Gerritsen: 52 in 52 Book #36


Vanish

Another Rizzoli & Isles book and somehow, I didn’t love this as much as previous novels. It’s still a great read and if you’re a fan of the Rizzoli & Isles series or crime writing in general, you’ll find this hits the mark. But here are my grievances:

If the maternity care in this book is even vaguely close to the reality in America then I feel really sorry for American women. Waters broken for two hours and already wanting to induce… really? My midwife brain took over and a similar reaction occurred that happens when I watch birthing programs. As daft as it sounds, American obstetrics and poor support for new mothers ruined several parts of this book for me!

The plotline itself felt a little lacking. Maybe I’ve been spoiled with intricate and twisting plotlines but I felt no surprise as the revelations came about. This is an even bigger shame as reading the first few chapters I felt excited about where the story was going. As I said before though, the plotline is good, I just feel it didn’t address the elements I like in a crime novel.

With big changes for Jane Rizzoli, we get to see another side of her character: new mother. Despite the horrific aforementioned maternity care and maternal support systems, it was good to read about her developing into this new role in her life and I feel that Tess Gerritsen did do an excellent job at conveying the huge range of emotions and stresses a first-time mother goes through. It’s often difficult to portray this well and I feel this was one of the best aspects of this book.

Not bad, but I was hoping for better. The Mephisto Club is next on my list so I hope the series will return to its usual high standards and I can enjoy some good old murder again.

Kat

Leave a Reply

